Weekend Grub: Panizza Pasta Bonanza

I don’t know what it is about weekends. I am just driven by the cheat day mentality. My motivation to unearth new foodie discoveries is so strong. This is my weekend sense of entitlement, after a week’s worth of work (a.k.a. WWW)

When I read about My Kitchen’s offering of unlimited pasta and panizza on Spot.ph,  I said to myself, this is my reward for WWW. I finally get a chance to sample what the original panizza of Chef Chris Locher tastes like. Chef Chris made the panizza popular, during his stint in Pampanga at  C’. If panini and pizza had a child, it would be the panizza, according to the Dopaminejunkie. A panizza is a flatbread pizza that you can stuff alfalfa sprouts and arugula leaves with.And then sprinkle chili oil or parmesan cheese as you please. Then roll it up like a lumpia.  Pop in your mouth and enjoy!

When the panizza became popular, other establishments followed suit. Yellow Cab introduced its own version, Dear Darla. Uncle Cheffy also made its own flat pizza.

I have this eat all you can window to discover what the hype is all about.

On an early Sunday morning, we made our way near Paco Park. My Kitchen by Chef Chris is the flagship restaurant of the Oasis Park Hotel.

It was before 11 a.m., we were the early birds there. It was the smart thing to do, because the restaurant was fully booked for lunch. That way, we skipped the listing and found our cozy little corner for Food Stuffing Sunday.

So the deal is a steal, really. For PhP 650, you can order all the pasta and panizza (boldly renamed as The Original) you can eat. There is quite a variety you can choose from. And if you add another PhP 150, salad and soup to your heart’s content. The dishes are made to order. Call out the servers when you’re ready for your next dish from the kitchen.

The Original Panizza Menu
wp-image-1898147580jpg.jpg
The Pasta, Salad and Soup Choices

And so it begins… *no judgments, please…*

Creamy pumpkin and carrot soup, no guesswork here

 

Artichoke hearts, alfalfa sprouts, fresh juicy and sundried tomatoes, Kalamata olives.. The Oasis Salad was calling me out from the menu, choose me, choose me...

And I did!

 

Refillable sips of iced tea after, it was part of the smorgasborg. I was ready for the main event. The Original Panizza. You get to choose the pizza you can roll up. I chose the quatro fungi, a whirl of fresh white, Swiss brown, enoki and Porcini mushrooms.

*You had me at M-U-S-H-R-O-O-M-S.*

I loved the novelty of it. Knowing that I was eating the bright idea from the Master of Panizza himself. But this plate had me thinking, why is it still Dear Darla for me? 🙂

Frankly speaking, I wasn’t wowed by this. Maybe I was expecting too much. I still like my pizza sliced in wedges, with stringy cheese in every bite..

But the pasta? Now, this was another story..

The Capellini Beatrice

The capellini was cooked perfectly. Angel hair is tricky. If you harvest the pasta even seconds late from the boiling water, it ends up mooshy and soggy.

But this one? It was picked up out of the water. In the nick of time. Precise. To the last second.

Al dente pasta, fresh pesto, tender, legit bite sized shrimp and scallops — they cut no corners here. This was awesome, best dish of the day.

Spaghetti Carbonara

Yes I am talking to you, my dear ones, who pledge allegiance to the Republic of Carbonara. This dish has your names written all over it. This was Chef Chris’s version, cream, parmesan, bacon, mushroom. Not the traditional way, I know. But I’m sure this version makes a legion of fans happy.

So, what did I think about this promotional offering? Soooo worth it…

If you peek on Tripadvisor, My Kitchen is rated as the top Italian restaurant in the city. And I understand why. For this bonanza, there were items that they did well. They are real winners in my book. You will leave happy, and satisfied that you got your money’s worth.

This promo is available Saturdays and Sundays until September. You can come in the whole day and eat all the pasta, panizza, soup and salad you want. Homebrewed iced tea will go with it too. Reservations are recommended, if you can’t come in early like we did.

Pasta is my soul food. I can eat it everyday. For weekends til September? You’ll probably find me at Chef Chris’s My Kitchen.

P.S. This article is also featured in Mytrendingstories.com.

My Kitchen by Chef Chris
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
1032-34 Belen Street , Paco, Metro Manila, 1007, Philippines
http://www.oasispark.com/dine-drink/my-kitchen-by-chef-chris.htm 
Leave a Reply

