#nationaldonutday

Every Pinoy kid’s first encounter with donuts was with Dunkin Donuts. Back then, they were the only donuts we knew.

image

This photo threw me back to our trips to that famed Aurora Boulevard branch. I lifted this from the Dunkin Donuts Philippines Twitter account. It always felt like a party. Butternut was my go-to flavor from the very beginning. But I did not consider myself as a donut fanatic.

Until, in New York,

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
Dough branch around the Flatiron

 

Dough happened.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset
Afternoon offerings at Dough

 

Dough doughnuts changed my opinion about doughnuts altogether. The willowy dough, offered in powerpacked flavors such as chocolate glaze and cocoa nibs, dulce de leche, hibiscus. And my ultimate favorite was this:

image

A sweet and tangy lemon glaze, candied ginger bits. Just heavenly…

Right then and there, I became a certified doughnut fan!

Jpeg
Dough’s Chocolate with Cocoa Nibs Donut

 

And in celebration of #nationaldonutday, I want to keep my heart happy and grab a donut to satisfy my fidgety hankering.

So we took a stroll to Edsa Shangri-la’s The Bakeshop. There I found a dark chocolate glazed donut worth P80 ($1.73). It wasn’t the best doughnut in my books. But this was enough to satisfy the craving. The dark choco topping was bittersweet and the dough was just the right amount of airy and dense. A few bites into it, it felt like a party all over again.

 

Edsa ShangDonut

Maligayang kaarawan sa lahat ng nagmamahal sa Donuts sa buong mundo!!

Leave a Reply

